Cyrus Travelogues

Paw walas voyage ;)

header photo

Cathedral De Oaxaca Mexico - An Integral Part of Mexico’s History

October 6, 2015

We stayed up till late night that day as we wanted to explore the serene environment of the beach to the best extent possible. After having a tiring day, all of us had a solid sleep and woke a bit late the next day. We had breakfast inside the hotel and left for the remaining destinations by hiring a private car arranged by the hotel staff. The first destination in our list for the second day was the Cathedral de Oaxaca Mexico or Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption.

Cathedral De Oaxaca Mexico | Image Resource :

It is situated in what is known as Oaxaca de Juarex in Mexico and serves as the base for Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Antequera. One of the members of the church told us that the construction of the church started in the year 1535 and had to be rebuilt several times after damages due to various reasons.

It is devoted to Our Lady of the Assumption. We were extremely lucky that we had a Christian friend in our gang and it was he who took the centre stage and explained all the features of the church in detail. Before the establishment of this building, it was the Temple of San Juan de Dios which acted as the temporary site for cathedral church of diocese.

It was in 1640 when the base for the diocese was handed over the Our Lady of Assumption after the installation of the cathedral. The Cathedral had to be rebuilt numerous times after severe earthquakes during the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.


Inside View of Cathedral De Oaxaca Mexico | Image Resource :

The most recent rebuilding started from 1702 and continued up to 1733. The main front portion of the building is built using green coloured cantera stone which is a common feature of buildings in Oaxaca. The interiors on the other hand have been designed in the Neoclassical style.

A statue of Our Lady of the Assumption crafted at the Portfirio era in Italy, acts as the altar. It is actually a bronze statue which was transported from Europe and crafted by Tadoni. The original towers were demolished during the earthquake in 1931. The second chapel on the east has remains of Cross of Huatulco whereas the last one on the west is dedicated to Lord of Lightning.


Go Back